Book Review: “Bloodlines” by Richelle Mead | Spoiler-Free

Hello! So this book has just been sitting on my shelf collecting dust for a good few months, since this past Christmas. So I figured it was high time I read it. And I am quite glad that I did because I really enjoyed it. I will say that this is the first book in the spin-off series to Vampire Academy and to really understand everything that goes on, you need to read that series first. Things just won’t make enough sense and you’ll be really confused if you don’t. But let’s go ahead and get into the review.

Plot:

In this book, we follow Sydney Sage, an Alchemist who we saw in Vampire Academy. And she is in deep shit because of her complicated alliance with the dhampir Rose Hathaway. Instead of sending her to the dreaded and feared re-education centers, the Alchemists give her a new “mission” of sorts. She is to go to a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California as a roommate to Moroi Queen Lissa’s younger sister, Jill. Jill’s life was threatened in an attack by Moroi assassins trying to dethrone Lissa.

Sydney has been assigned to be her guardian and protector. Sydney is none too pleased to learn she’ll be forced to room with a vampire, especially since she has been accused of sympathisizing with vampires, an accusation that is akin to treason in the Alchemists’ eyes.

With new threats rising, Sydney must question who to trust, what to believe, and who she really is as a person.

My Thoughts:

While I did like Vampire Academy more than Bloodlines, this was still an enjoyable read. I flew through the last half of the book in like a few hours. I completely did not expect one plot twist toward the end. Completely took me by surprise. I did not like the ending. Not in the sense that it was a horrible ending, but in the sense of STAY AWAY FROM MY PERFECT CINNAMON ROLL. While I did understand why (it totally makes sense), I did not like Sydney’s fear of vampire magic. I found it super annoying and maybe even a little irrational. I am super interested in what she really is as well. You really see the impact Rose had on Adrian and how she and Dimitri really scarred him. That really rubbed me the wrong way and I did not like it. I am not sure how I feel about Jill yet. I know she’s sweet and everything but her character doesn’t really stand out to me. In comparison, I do like Rose’s character more than Sydney’s just because I love kickass characters. Maybe Sydney will grow on me. I don’t know. We will see with the next book, which I will hopefully get my hands on soon. Overall, I really enjoyed this and am excited to see the story progress with the next installment to this series.

8
4.5/5 hearts

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

One thought on “Book Review: “Bloodlines” by Richelle Mead | Spoiler-Free

Leave a Reply

