April Wrap Up!

Hello! I can’t believe it is the end of yet another month. Time flies. After all, I am going to be graduating at the end of May. Crazy. Anyway, I definitely read more than I anticipated reading. I thought I would be back to reading around four books a month. And then I randomly decided to do Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon, which definitely helped. I ended up reading the same amount as last month, nine books. But let’s get into the books that I read this month.

The first book that I read in April was The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis.

140212

This was the second book in the Chronicles of Narnia series, the first one being a prequel novel, and while I did enjoy it, I found the characters a bit dull and I didn’t enjoy the story quite as much as I did in the movie. The movie just seemed more magical. It also seemed very slow, though I did finish it in about a day and a half. I am fairly certain all of you know what this story is about because the majority of the world has either heard of it or seen the movie. If you want to know all of my thoughts on this book, feel free to check out my review here. I gave it 3.5/5 hearts.

The second book that I read was The Martian by Andy Weir.

the_martian

This was probably my favorite book that I read this month. It follows Mark Watney, a botonist/engineer astronaut who becomes stranded on Mars when his crew believe him to be dead and have to leave him behind during a huge dust storm. This story was full of suspense, action, and a had a smart ass character that I really enjoyed. Overall, it was definitely one of my favorite reads of this year thus far. If you want to know more about my thoughts and what it is generally about, I’ll link my spoiler-free review here. I gave this 5/5 hearts.

The next book that I read this month was Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling.

1

I am very proud of myself for actually reading this. I had been trying to read this for ages, but never got around to it. This is the sixth book in the Harry Potter series and I really enjoyed it. While it wasn’t my favorite in the series, I did like the character development, storyline, and I was completely devastated by the end. If you want to know a bit more on my thoughts, I posted a spoiler-free review here. I gave this 4/5 hearts.

The next book that I read this month was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling.

136251

I decided to go ahead and finish off the series with the last book while I felt like reading the series. So I finally finished off this series, I completed one of my goals for 2016, and I feel very accomplished. I loved it. I loved the storyline, the characters, the friendship, the relationships in general in this book. It was very good. It is probably my second favorite in the series with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire being my very favorite of the series. If you want to know a bit more on my thoughts, my review is here. I gave it 5/5 hearts.

The next book I read was Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman.

23524116

This was something I read on a whim when my cable was out. It follows Essie McGee, a werewolf who doubles as an agent for the Werewolf Treaty Federation. She is running from her past when she is forced to go home and confront everything; she gets a case about missing werewolves and needs to find the culprit and bring him to justice. I read it in about two hours and despite its cheesy name, it was pretty good. It wasn’t great by any means, but it was decent. I did like that it was hilarious, sexy, and action-packed, but I just felt like it was rushed. If you want to know all of my thoughts, I posted my review here. I gave it 4.5/5 hearts.

The next book I read was Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi.

13623150

I read this for Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon and I really enjoyed it. This is the novella that comes in between Shatter Me and Unravel Me. It follows the perspective of a character that we see in Shatter Me, Warner. It really gives you perspective on who he really is and why he does what he does. You really see that he truly and full-heartedly loves Juliette. This really opened my eyes to Warner and it definitely made me look at him in a different light. All in all, I really enjoyed it. I gave this a 4.5/5 hearts.

The next book that I read this month was Curse of the Sphinx by Raye Wagner.

25905676

This was a novel that I read for the readathon and I really enjoyed it, much more than I thought I would. It follows our main character Hope, a young girl who has just lost her Mom. She has to move from town to town because people are hunting her. And she is harboring a dark secret. She is the Sphinx. This was really good. I enjoyed the characters and the world and I really shipped her with a certain someone. If you want to know more about it and my thoughts on it, I will link my review here. I gave it 5/5 hearts.

The next book that I read was Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi.

13104080

This was another book that I read for the readathon and I really enjoyed it. I will say that you shouldn’t read this without first reading Destroy Me. I can’t really say what this is about since it is the second book in the series, but I will tell you that it is gorgeously written with fabulous characters and a kickass plotline. I really like the direction this story went and will be going in the final book. I loved the world, the characters, and Warner and Juliette and I just really want them together. Like I don’t even care about Adam. He can go fall in a hole for all I care. But I really enjoyed this installment in this trilogy. If you want to know my thoughts on it, I will link my review here. I gave it 5/5 hearts.

And the last book that I read in this month of April was Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

18189606

This was probably my second favorite book that I read this month. In this book, we follow Emily Hughes, a teen girl who wakes up one day to find that her best friend, Sloane, has disappeared and the only thing she has to go on is the list she left her. Thinking doing all of these will help her find Sloane, she starts doing them and gets help from Frank Porter. This was a really fun story full of laughter, romance, friendship, heartbreak, and just everything you could ever want in a contemporary. I really enjoyed this and if you want to know more about my thoughts and the book, I will link my review here. I gave it 5/5 hearts.

I had a really good reading month. There were some books that I did not like, some books that I freaking loved, and it was just really enjoyable. And I finished (finally) Unravel Me. So that’s another win. (*fist pumps*) I am curious as to what you all read this month. What was your favorite book that I read? Leave your response in the comments below. I would love to know. And that will be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

Leave a Reply

