Book Review: “Since You’ve Been Gone” by Morgan Matson | Spoiler-Free

Hello! I am so excited for this spoiler-free review. This is now one of my favorite contemporary novels of all time. I really enjoyed it, But let’s get into the review!

Plot:

In this story, we follow Emily Hughes, a teen who wakes up one day in the summer to find her best friend Sloane Matthews is gone. She has just disappeared without a trace and her family with her. Sloane isn’t answering her phone. She can’t contact her in any way. So she is alone for the entire summer. Or it seems that way.

Sloane has left her a list of thirteen things to do over the summer. Hoping this will somehow give her a clue as to where the hell Sloane vanished to, Emily starts doing these. And somehow Frank Porter, the golden boy of her high school, starts helping her do all of these.

As she completes the rest of the list, she starts making new friends and pieces together where exactly Sloane is. And she may even fall in love along the way.

My Thoughts:

If you can’t already tell, I am in love with this book. I really enjoyed the storyline. I just found it hilarious at times while also having sad and serious moments. It had a very prominent theme of friendship which was the main reason that I loved it so much. I really liked all of the characters. I found them developed really well and they were very realistic. They felt like real people. They were relatable and I found that Emily related to me the most just because she relied on people in social situations and felt very awkward and had anxiety. That just made her seem more real to me. I enjoyed the romance and I was definitely very sad at one point and I almost cried, though I didn’t. All in all, this was a fabulous story that I really loved. This may have been the first Morgan Matson novel that I read, but it most certainly will not be the last.

9
5/5 hearts

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Since You’ve Been Gone” by Morgan Matson | Spoiler-Free

Leave a Reply

