Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon!

Hello! So for the first time ever I am going to actually participate in a readathon! If you don’t know what a readathon is, it is essentially a reading marathon. You try to get as much reading done as you can in a set time period. In this case, it is 24 hours. It is going to be on April 23 starting at the same time (it is specific to your timezone, so I will link that list here). I just wanted to see if I would enjoy doing readathons to determine if I would like to do them in the future. But I wanted to share the books I plan on reading throughout the readathon.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

136251

This is, as I am sure you are aware, a book that I have already started. It is the final installment in the Harry Potter series and the best from what I’ve heard. I don’t want to completely take a break from this and read several other books during a readathon because that could make me never want to finish this. So I will be finishing this book off during the readathon. I am going to try to get to page 600 by the end of the day Friday, so that should put me on track to where I can finish off this book. Fingers crossed I can do it!

Curse of the Sphinx by Raye Wagner

25905676

This is a book that I have had my eye on for a while and then I got a spot on the Launch Team for the sequel, Demigods and Monsters, and I was sent a copy by her PA, so I figured that would be a great time to read Curse of the Sphinx. I know next to nothing about it. I know it involves monsters, Greek Mythology, love, suspense, action, and all of that has me super intrigued about this book. That, and I have talked to Raye a few times and she is awesome, so I am altogether very excited to dive into this world.

Voice of Gods by Eleanor Herman

25546222

This is the prequel novella to Legacy of Kings, a novel I want to read, but just haven’t bought yet. If you want to check this out, I recommend you get it on Kindle because it is free. I started it about a year ago and never finished it, so I figured I might as well finish it off. I might start all over depending on how much time I have left during the readathon. It involves some sort of mythology and I know it is the back story for Legacy of Kings. It seems pretty interesting, so I am interested as to where the story will lead.

Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

13623150

This is probably the one that I am most excited about. This is the novella that occurs in between Shatter Me, book 1, and Unravel Me, book 2. It sounds very compelling and I have been told that it involves a ton of character development for a character you see in Book 1 and you won’t really appreciate the story in Book 2 unless you read this novella. I would tell you what it is about, but that would spoil the first book. Just know that it sounds super interesting and very good.

And that is going to be it for what I plan on reading throughout the readathon. I didn’t want to go too overboard and stress myself out with finishing these books. I just want to see if I can really do a readathon. Again, this was super spontaneous for me and out of the blue. I will be active mostly on Twitter and Goodreads if you want to see my progress. I encourage you all to do this if it seems like something you would like to do. It starts at 8 am in my timezone on Saturday April 23. If you want some tips and tricks on how to successfully do a readathon, I recommend you go watch Catriona of Little Book Owl on YouTube’s video, which I will link right here. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

