Contemporary Book Recommendations

Hello! I am back with another book recommendations post. I am hoping to get through every major genre. A lot of times, the book to get me out of a reading slump is a contemporary or if I need a break from a genre that I’ve been reading a lot lately (*cough cough* Fantasy *cough cough*), then I will find solace in the genre of contemporaries. I have read both serious and light and fluffy contemporaries, though I have found that the light and fluffy ones are the ones that I enjoy the most. I fly through contemporaries no matter how serious or fluffy they are. But let’s get started.

You should pretty much read anything by Rainbow Rowell in general, but my favorite remains (surprise, surprise) Fangirl.

16068905

This is the most relatable book I’ve read. In this book, we follow Cath, the twin sister of Wren, who writes gay fanfiction for her favorite fantasy series of all time. She is a freshman in college and she expected to room with her twin sister seeing as how they have always been close despite being complete opposites (Wren is an extrovert while Cath is an introvert), but Wren wants distance from her sister, so they don’t room together. This results in Cath never coming out of her room until she is forced to by her roommate Reagan. She ends up finding a way to deal with college and even falls in love along the way. It is so cute and fluffy, but really deals with some serious issues as well. It is a great balance. I highly, highly recommend this book.

You should also consider checking out The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.

11870085

If you are a teen girl who hasn’t been living under a rock, then you should have heard of this by now. You probably also know that it is about cancer, which is true. But stop right there. Do not just write this off as a cheap knock-off version of A Night to Remember (my mom’s words, not mine). This book is hilarious. I laughed and cried in equal measure. This book follow Hazel Grace Lancaster, a seventeen year old girl who has lung cancer. And she is forced to go to Support Group where she ends up meeting a guy in remission named Augustus Waters. And that is all I will tell you. Just know that is a fabulous book that I have unashamedly read four times. I highly recommend this fantastic story. You will not be disappointed.

I also think you should read Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer.

12283261

This is probably one of the cutest books I have ever read in my life. The contents are gorgeous as well. And the cover…But the story is pretty much every fangirl’s wish come true. Our main character, Delilah, is obsessed with this fairytale. Literally obsessed. Like Harry Potter with Draco Malfoy. And one day the main (hot) character speaks to her. And so this book is about her trying to get him out of the book and into the real world. It is so cute and funny and fluffy and I really love this book. I highly recommend you consider picking this up.

This next one is definitely the most serious of all of these. Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens.

fakingnormalcover_zps84cd3151

This is a powerful story about a girl who is in a lot of pain and not telling anyone about it. Essentially, she was raped, but won’t tell anyone who it is or even that it is happening. And then you have Bodee, a boy who moves in with them and is in a lot of pain too. It is essentially about them healing each other and owning up to what happened to them. It is such a powerful and captivating story that I recommend every human on earth read.

If you want more of an action-filled story, you should definitely read Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles.

perfectchemistry_300

Don’t let the cheesy name and cover fool you. It involves gangs and violence and sexy things and feelings and gahh…this is such a good book. In this book, we follow Brittany Ellis, a senior girl who is horrified to find out that Alex Fuentes, a known gang member from the other side of town, is her lab partner. Alex is thrilled to be her lab partner because he made a bet with his friends to lure her into his dark life, but soon her realizes that not everything he sees on the surface is all there is to the life of Brittany Ellis. This story is so sexy and it deals with both serious and light topics. One reason that I really love it is it is freaking hilarious. I kind of feel the need to reread this…but it is definitely the best of the trilogy. I never even read the last book. None of them held a candle to this one. I definitely recommend you give this a try.

And if all else fails, read The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.

51737

This book has a pretty great balance of seriousness and fluffy and cuteness. In this book, we follow Macy, a teen who is just trying to pass her SATs and get through the loss of her dad. She ends up getting a job at a catering business and meets a boy named Wes who makes her question the shelter her parents have kept her in and what it might take to come out of her shell. I really loved this book. It is one of my favorite romance novels that I have read and I really recommend that you give this a try.

So those were my recommendations for the genre of contemporary. What one was your favorite? Tell me down in the comments below. I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

Leave a Reply

