Book Review: “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” by C. S. Lewis

So since this is such a short book and it is a book that many people have read and/or they’ve watched the movie, I decided to just do a very short review. This is also because I am a lazy sort of girl who just wants to do a very quick review. But let’s get started.

Characters:

Peter: He really didn’t stand out to me at all. He seemed very boring and for that reason, I couldn’t fathom why Edmund hated him so much.

Susan: I actually liked her character. There seeemed to be more depth to her character compared to Peter’s. She seemed much more laidback in the book compared to the movie and I really appreciated that.

Edmund: I hated his character. I just didn’t understand why he hated his family so much. And he was much too cynical and full of hate for my tastes.

Lucy: She has always been my fave ever since I started watching the movies and I really enjoyed her character. She was pretty consistent and I really liked how close she felt towards Aslan and how she wanted to help people.

Aslan: Oh, where do I begin? I loved his character so much more in the movie rather than in this book. He seemed terrifying to me rather than loving like in the movie, like how I imagine Christ being like (who Aslan is based off of), but he was just too prickly and unapproachable for my tastes and that really rubbed me the wrong way.

The White Witch: I actually liked her a whole lot more in the book than in the movie. We definitely learn more about her in this book compared to the movie and she definitely looks different. I just found her completely unattractive in the movie whereas she is described as being beautiful in the book. Looks aside, her personality was pretty consistent and I really appreciated that.

Plot:

You have four siblings: Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter. They are all humans, as is to be expected, and they all have to move to a Professor’s house because this is set in World War II and there are air-raids in London. So they get there and are exploring. Lucy finds a wardrobe that transports her to another world called Narnia. She meets this Faun named Tumnus who takes her to his house, feeds her, tells her stories, plays a flute type instrument and then he reveals that he was kidnapping her for the White Witch. But he can’t do it, so she goes back home and when she tells everyone, they say she is lying.

So another time she goes when they are playing hide and seek and Edmund follows her, finding that Narnia is real. The White Witch finds him, gives him some magic food that makes him want it more and more. Then Lucy and Edmund both come back. Edmund says she is lying. Eventually, Peter and Susan come along with Edmund and Lucy and find that it is real.

So they go and find that Tumnus has been arrested for assisting and fraternizing with humans or something to that effect. I don’t remember the exact charge. But they end up going with a beaver to his dam with his wife who tells them of the prophecy and of Aslan and all that jazz. Edmund slips out to go to the Queen and tells her everything.

She ends up taking him with her to hunt down his siblings. The others are going and end up meeting Father Christmas who gives Susan a horn and bow and quiver, Peter a shield and sword, and Lucy a vial to heal people and a dagger. So they end up getting to the stone table before the White Witch because she had to get off her sled and walk the rest of the way with Edmund and the dwarf, which slowed them down significantly.

So they go, they meet Aslan, and one day the girls are attacked by a wolf working for the Queen. Susan blows her horn, Peter kills the wolf, and then the other wolf gets away, but Aslan’s Narnians chase him so they could find Edmund. They do and they bring them back.

The Witch comes and negotiates with Aslan that Edmund doesn’t have to die. That negotiation actually was him giving his life for Edmund’s. So he does, but because he was innocent and went in Edmund, a traitor,’s stead, so he came back to life He rose again, I suppose you could say. And then he, Lucy, and Susan go to the Witch’s House to heal the “statues” of the Narnians and get more troops for Edmund and Peter who had gone to battle.

So they do that and they win the war. Peter, Susan, Lucy, and Peter are crowned Kings and Queens of Narnia and they rule for hundreds of years. Then they end up going back after hunting a white stag and find that no time at all had passed and they told the Professor all that had happened. That was essentially the end of the book.

My Thoughts:

I really wish I would have enjoyed this more than I did. I read this to see how different it was from the movie, but it wasn’t really different at all. Just minor differences. I actually think I enjoyed the movie much more just because I love the characters in the movie a ton, but I felt no connection whatsoever with the characters in the book. I had a huge problem with his writing style because it really bored me and I had to force myself to finish this book. I just found that the movie felt very magical and amazing, but this book just really fell flat for me. Maybe I would have enjoyed this a bit more if I had read this when I was younger, but I wasn’t a huge reader when I was younger, so I couldn’t read this anyway. I originally rated this book four stars on Goodreads, but writing this review, I really feel like I need to change it.

6
3.5/5 hearts

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” by C. S. Lewis

  1. I guess the reason why Edmund hated peter was because of his bossy/parental nature… He is a total brat in this book. He gets knocked up with some sense only and only when he is THREATENED and KIDNAPPED by d white witch…
    Ooohhh.. The White Witch… Where do I begin.?? She gets the bad end of the ruling deal at the beginning.. The winter.. So what?? We can see her turning that around in her favor.. I mean that’s called ruling with a class… I guess she is one of the best villains I have ever come across … Just marvelous..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

