March Wrap Up!

Wow, this year is flying by fast! March has flown by at the speed of light. I read many good books this month, nine to be exact, which was two more than last month, making this the best reading month I’ve ever had in my life. *pats self on back* I am like ten books ahead on my Goodreads reading goal. I am trying to stay ahead to prepare for this summer when I usually have a lack of motivation to read, especially since I’ll be running out of things to read. But let’s get into the books!

The first book I read this month was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

16096824

This is a high fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It follows our main character, Feyre, who kills this wolf on Fae lands, so this Immortal faerie demands retribution. She has to live (she’s really a slave) with Tamlin, a fae lord. It is full of hot passion, humor, and magic. I freaking loved this book. I loved the romance and passion and action, and I just really enjoyed this book. It was everything I wanted and more. I fell in love with the writing, the characters, and the world. I highly, high recommend that you pick this one up. I gave it 5/5 hearts and if you are interested in the full extent of my thoughts, I’ll link my review here.

The next book I read was Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

23395680

This is a science fiction novel that centers around a terrorist attack on this planet and how these two people, Kady and Ezra, were caught up in it. They were boyfriend and girlfriend, but they broke up that morning. They end up on two different ships, so they have to communicate through IMs and emails, and I really enjoyed this book. The whole thing is told through files and texts and IMs and emails. It was very interesting and horrific at times. At times it scared the hell out of me. But I gave this 5/5 hearts. If you want to know more about it, I did a full spoiler-free review for it, which I will link here.

The next book I read this month was In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken.

16150831

Yeah, that’s right. I finally finished off this trilogy! I feel so accomplished. This is the final book in The Darkest Minds trilogy, and it was pretty good. I really liked it, but it didn’t blow me away. It wasn’t a fantastic ending to the series. The first book follows Ruby who is basically in this concentration camp for kids with powers (which they got from a disease that swept the nation. If you contracted it, but survived, you were left with abilities) and then she is broken out and eventually comes across this van with some kids with powers like her and it is an epic road trip adventure. I loved the first book and really liked the second, but this one was just kind of really depressing. I go into all my thoughts in my review, so if you want to check that out, I’ll link it here. I gave it 4.5/5 hearts.

The next book that I read this month was The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith.

18780192

This was a different sort of Snow White retelling. You do have Snow White, but she is reflecting on everything that is happening in her life. She is very depressed because her husband has died. This book is about her finding the strength within her to recover from the loss and be with her daughter on her wedding day. I really liked it and gave it 4.5/5 hearts. If you’re interested in knowing more, I did a complete spoiler-free review, which I will link here.

The next book that I read this month was Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

This is the first book in Cassie’s new The Dark Artifices series and, as expected, it was FANTABULOUS. It is definitely the best and  longest book that I have read this year thus far. Its about 720 pages including the short story in the back about The Mortal Instruments kids, which was also pretty great. This story follows two people, parabatai, Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn. If you remember them, they were in City of Heavenly Fire, the finale to The Mortal Instuments. Five years have passed since the events of The Mortal Instruments and another body has shown up with the same mysterious symbols that were bruned onto the dead bodies of Emma’s parents. She is trying to figure out who really killed them and then there is forbidden romance between her and Julian and this book was SO GOOD. I highly, highly recommend it. I did a full spoiler-free review as well, so I’ll link that here. I gave it 5/5 hearts.

The next book I read was A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest.

17255435

This is the first book in a 25 book series, and I really enjoyed it. I just read it because my grandmother recommended that I read it and she let me borrow her e-reader to do that. It follows Sofia, a girl who goes on vacation with her best friend. She gets kidnapped and taken to the Shade, a vampire safe-haven where she is kept as a slave to the Prince, Derek Novak. I really liked it and if you want to know all of my spoilery thoughts, I did a review, which I will link here. I gave it 4.5/5 hearts.

The next book that I read was Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys.

25614492

This is a historical fiction novel that follows four characters, each with a different cultural background that are trying to survive the war. This is a book that is centered around the largest maritime disaster in history, the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff, which resulted in over 9,000 lives lost. These four characters are a young Polish girl, a German sailor, a Lithuanian nurse, and a Prussian art thief. It was a very moving and powerful story that I really enjoyed. If you’re interested in knowing more, I’ll link my spoiler-free review here. I gave it 4/5 hearts.

The next book that I read was The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

11408650

This is the first book in a trilogy. It follows a teen named Mara Dyer who wakes up in a hospital, from a coma. She was in an accident with her friends in which she was the only survivor and she has no memory of the accident. In an effort to move on, Mara convinces her family to move. They move down to Florida where Mara meets a boy named Noah Shaw who ends up helping her figure out what really happened the night of the accident. This book was PHENOMENAL. I LOVED IT. It was full of intrigue, suspense, hilarious moments, sad moments, feelsy moments, creepy as hell moments…it just gave me all of the feels. I highly recommend that you pick this one up. I gave it 5/5 hearts. If you’re interested in knowing more about it, I did a full spoiler-free review, which I will link here.

The last book that I read this month was Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas.

20613470

This book was one of the best that I read this month. It completely shattered my soul into a million pieces. What a way to end the month! This is the third book in the Throne of Glass series. In the first book, Celaena Sardothien, an assassin, is entered into the King’s competition with other assassins, thieves, and the like to become the King’s Champion, which is essentially his personal assassin. This is a fantastic series that I highly recommend you check out. It just keeps getting better and better with each book. This book was freaking rocking fantastic. I gave this 5/5 hearts and if you want to know all of my spoilery thoughts, I will link my review here.

So those were the books that I read in March. What book was your favorite? Tell me down in the comments below. I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading, and I will see you next time.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

