Book Review: “A Shade of Vampire” by Bella Forrest

***Warning: This review contains spoilers. If you wish to not know what goes on throughout this book, read the synopsis and don’t read any other part of this review.***

Hello! So today I am going to be discussing A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest. My grandmother recommended it to me because she loves it so much that she will be dedicating herself to reading all 25 books in the series (I know; the series is freaking gigantic). So she lended me her e-reader so that I could read it while I went up to Akron to schedule my college classes. I thought the plot seemed interesting, but I wasn’t sure if I would really love it like her, but having read it in like one day, I now understand why she liked it so much. It was fantastic. But let’s get to the review.

Synopsis:

On the evening of Sofia Claremont’s seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake.

A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.

She is kidnapped to an island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine.
An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains.

Sofia’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is the one selected out of hundreds of girls to join the harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal Prince.

Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.

Will she succeed? …or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks?”

Characters:

Sofia: our main lead character. She kind of annoyed me at times, but I did admire her for constantly trying to help her and the other girls escape. She also has this condition that allows her to feel everything around her. She is very sensitive to everything.

Ben: her best friend and prior to Sofia being kidnapped, she had a massive crush on him. It is later revealed that he too was kidnapped and treated much worse than her.

Derek: he is prince and he wakes up after being asleep for four hundred years. He chooses Sofia as his personal slave because she comforts one of the other girls. He is very moody, very adorable at times, terrifying, and altogether a confusing character. I just can’t seem to figure him out.

Lucas: I hate this SOB. I want him to die in the fiery pits of Hell. Sorry…I just really hate him. He is very abusive, controlling, manipulative, and an altogether horrible character. I just want Derek to kill him. However, he won’t. Because Lucas is his brother.

Plot:

So the story starts off with Sofia being at her bestie’s football game when she has one of her panic attacks. He comes off the field with the ball and helps her get over it. The next day, she leaves with him and his family (she lives with them) to go to a vacation in Cancun. She gets him on the beach, fully preparing herself to tell him how she feels when one of his exes comes and he ends up spending the entire time with her, even forgetting Sofia’s birthday.

So she runs off onto the beach and is kidnapped by a vampire named Lucas Novak. She is taken to the Shade and is presented before Derek. She comforts one of the other kidnapped girls and for that, he chooses her as his personal slave. She never manages to escape, but she has to live in his house with him at the top of the tree.

So she starts to warm up to him and they grow closer. One night, there was an attack in her room. Derek bursts in there to find her clutching a piece of blond hair. He walks into the bathroom to find that the girl she protected, Gwyn, has been bled dry. So she starts sleeping in his room.

We learn that it was Lucas who did this and he threatened Sofia if she told Derek. So she keeps her mouth shut. She is taken to the witch they have at the Shade who diagnoses her with her real condition and she continued to work with her. One night, a vampiress comes in with her slave, Ben. He had also been captured.

So Derek convinces that woman to let Ben be his new slave. Ben annoys me from this moment on. I don’t honestly know what Sofia ever saw in him. He just assumes that every vampire is the same. And his constantly putting down of Derek really ticked me off. But nonetheless, because of Ben, a rift grows between Derek and Sofia. One night, they fight and she runs off, finding Lucas hurting Ben. So she saves him, but he tries to feed from her and I think he would have raped her if Derek had not have shown up.

That night, he decides to let her and Ben leave. So they do (this moment was agonizing for me; I kept saying, “My babies. My poor, poor babies…”), but before they do, she kisses Derek and then they are knocked unconscious (with a sedative) so that they can’t find themselves back at the Shade. And that is precisely where the book ends.

My Thoughts:

I really liked this book. Some of the characters I feel like were a bit underdeveloped. I really liked the world and the love story. Because the book was so short, things did seem a bit rushed, but that is totally forgivable. I mean, they didn’t even kiss until the end. There was so much sexual tension between the two of them that it was ridiculous. This was a novella, so it was a little over 150 pages, so I just flew through this book and read it in like a day. I could have finished it within a couple of hours, but I was traveling and I got car sick. Overall, a really great and fast-paced read.

8
4.5/5 hearts

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “A Shade of Vampire” by Bella Forrest

Leave a Reply

