Book Review: “Illuminae” by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Spoiler-Free)

So I thought I would spice things up a bit by doing a Spoiler-Free Review. I know I don’t normally do this, but I’ve seen enough Booktube Spoiler-Free Reviews to know what to do. Now this the first time I’ve ever done this, so just bear with me.

Format:

I am not talking about it being a hardback. I am talking about the actual way it is formatted because it isn’t like any book I’ve ever read in my entire life. This book was so cool to read. It was told through transcripts and files and IMs between our two main lead characters (Ezra Mason and Kady Grant). And the computer talks to you (which was probably the creepiest aspect of this book, in my opinion). It was just so freaking cool. Because of the way it was fomatted, I also completely flew through this book. It was freaking amazing.

Plot:

So this is set in the future in the year 2075. There is a terrorist attack on this one planet whose name escapes me. It is small from what I can tell. So we follow Kady and Ezra (they had literally broken up that very same day) who are trying to escape in her truck. So there are these two ships (one being a military one and the other being a science research ship) that come and the military one has come to help to try to get all of the survivors out of there.

So Kady and Ezra end up getting on two separate ships. She gets on the science one, the Hypatia, while he gets on the military one, the Alexander. But the third ship, the terrorist ship that is called the Lincoln, is coming after them, trying to kill them. They want to kill them because they don’t want anyone to know that they attacked that planet. Its a big corporation that attacked this planet, so they want to keep in under wraps, and let the attack die with the survivors who they are trying to kill.

Kady and Ezra are communicating via IMs, which I loved. I thought it was very cool and different with how this story was told. So when they are messaging, they’ll say things like, “*shrugs” or “*sighs*”, and I just really loved it. Because we do that when we text each other.

This whole story was action-packed, intense, full of supense and intrigue, and just a whole lot of fun. Something I forgot to mention is that the two ships can usually “jump” to other “jump” places in the galaxy, but that part of the ships was damaged, so they have to travel for eight months on a limited supply of food and water to the nearest station, and there are a lot of people on these ships, so everyone has to have rations.

This story has a lot of hacking, war, love, suspense and intrigue with super relatable characters and a kickass story. If that sounds like something you’d be interested in, I definitely recommend that you pick this book up.

My Thoughts:

I actually enjoyed this much more than I was expecting to. This story was so unique and different and freaking amazing. I have tears in my eyes just thinking about how amazing this book was. I loved the end. Actually, I loved every aspect and moment of this book. It was such a beautiful story. It was action-packed, suspenseful…pretty much everything you want in a sci-fi novel, was in this book. It was definitely one of the best books I have ever read and probably the best book that I have read this year thus far. I am super excited about Book 2 coming out this year (It is called Gemina and it is going to be released on October 18).

9
5/5 hearts

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “Illuminae” by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Spoiler-Free)

Leave a Reply

