Dystopian Book Recommendations

So I haven’t done a recommendations post in a bit, so I figured it was high time to do one! I love the genre of Dystopian. I fell in love with it when I read The Hunger Games, and have since continued loving it. If you’re not sure if it was Dystopian, the trait that all of them have is it deals with what seems like an improved society is actually flawed and there might even be a government being overthrown in the course of the series. That is pretty much the baseline for every Dystopian novel out there. So if you think that is a trope, that’s actually a genre, so if you don’t like it, don’t read it. And now I am rambling…let’s just get to the books!

So the first one that I highly recommend you read is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

41boj-am1rl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

If you don’t know what this is about, what rock did you crawl out from under? Anyway, this is a trilogy that centers around Katniss Everdeen who enters into “The Hunger Games” because her little sister is chosen and she doesn’t want her to die. So she volunteers for her. Essentially, the actual games consist of about 24 kids (I don’t remember the exact number) who are basically killing each other until there is only one left. That last one becomes a victor and they get to spend the rest of their lives in peace.

The next one I recommend you give a try is Divergent by Veronica Roth.

divergent_book_by_veronica_roth_us_hardcover_2011

This is the first book in a trilogy, but the rest of the series sucks, so you should just read this one. It follows our main character Tris Prior who is conflicted about what faction she is in. She follows her heart and uncovers a world of corruption. The factions are Abnegation (selflessness), Dauntless (Brave), Erudite (Wise), Amity (kindness and peace), and Candor (Truthful). It is a pretty basic storyline, but it is still really good, and I love this book. So you should definitely check it out.

Another book I recommend you check out is The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

1645601_orig

This is the first book in a fantastic Dystopian series. What is really cool about this book is the titles of the books make a sentence. So the first book is The Darkest Minds, the second is Never Fade, and the third is In the Afterlight. So, The Darkest Minds Never Fade In the Afterlight. I thought it was cool. Anyway, it surrounds this girl Ruby who is put in a concentration camp for kids with powers. She is broken out and ends up meeting these other kids with powers. There is love and an epic road trip adventure, and I really love this book. I highly recommend you check this out.

The next book you should read is Matched by Ally Condie.

7735333

I loved this story. Now I don’t recommend that you read the rest of the series. Just read this first one because the rest of the trilogy was so bad that I couldn’t get completely through the second one. This is pretty much about this girl Cassia who is matched with her best friend (who the government deems to be her soul mate), but she falls in love with this outcast named Ky. It is really cute and really fun. In this world, there is no culture. No music. No poetry. No history. No read or writing. No books. Nothing. It is so interesting, and I really enjoyed this first book.

Another book that I recommend you check out is Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.

shatterme2

This is the first book in a completed trilogy of the same name. I am probably going to be reading the sequel to this pretty soon. I absolutely loved this first book, and I am so excited to see where the rest of the series goes. It follows this girl named Juliette who is in prison because she accidentally killed someone (her touch literally kills), but one day the people who put her in there (The Reestablishment) decide she could be of some use, so they let her out and in exchange, she has to work for them. This has some of the most beautiful writing that I have ever read, and I highly recommend it.

The final book I think you should consider reading is Legend by Marie Lu.

9275658

This book was one that I read so long ago, but I remember enjoying it immensely. I loved the characters and the action and the world…it was just a fantastic book. From what I remember, it is told in dual POVs, June (a wealthy military prodigy) and Day (a wanted criminal). June’s brother is killed and she is told that Day is the one who supposedly did it. So she wants to avenge him, but figures out what is really going on and what lengths the country will go to to protect secrets. This reminds me that I really need to read the second book…

So those were my Dystopian recommendations. I hope you enjoyed this post and you should let me know in the comments if I should do more posts like this. Thank you so much for reading this, and I will have another blog post up soon, so I will see you then.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

Leave a Reply

