The Hamilton Book Tag!

Hey, guys! So today I thought it would be fun to do another book tag because it seemed fun, and I really wanted to do another book tag. So here we are! If you don’t know, this is a tag surrounding the musical Hamilton, which is about Alexander Hamilton, but it is told through hip hop music. I have not seen it, though I have heard the soundtrack. Apparently it has reached “main-stream” status. If you want to know more, I will link Sophia of thebookbasement’s video on it right here. I saw Katie from Vincentvanstop do this, so I will link her video right here. So let’s get to it.

1. The Room Where It Happens: What is a book world that you would like to put yourself in?

So many fabulous book worlds. Honestly, for me, it has to be the Shadow World from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

256683

It has been a dream of mine to be a Shadowhunter and kill demons. I want to protect the world against evil. I want to meet Jace, Clary, Simon, Isabelle, Alec, and Magnus. I want to help, and I really want to have a valid excuse to wear black all of the time. I just really want to be a part of this world. If I couldn’t be a Shadowhunter, I would want to either be a warlock (or witch) or maybe a werewolf. Preferably a warlock.

2. The Schuyler Sisters: What is an underrated female character?

Now this may just be me, but I feel like Elena Gilbert from The Vampire Diaries book series is pretty underrated. The book series. Not the television series. Think of them as separate entities.

3934321

Now this is separate from the tv series because Elena’s character is completely different in the book. In the book, she didn’t annoy me. There was actual depth to her character. She starts out being this snobby bitch, but as all of these things happen in her life, she starts to appreciate her friends and everything that she has. She is strong and she learns to be selfless and kind and what sacrifice really means. Her character is very underrated. I love how she develops as the series progresses. If you haven’t read this series, you should. But stop after The Return: Midnight because after that it is a ghost writer. Not the real L. J. Smith.

3. My Shot: What is a character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anyone stop them?

This definitely makes me think of Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.

throne-of-glass-cover

Celaena is very headstrong, independent, and badass. She does not let anyone stand in her way. If she wants something, she is going to do anything to get it. She is one of my very favorite characters ever. This can be a bad thing and it does get her in a bit of trouble sometimes. If you haven’t read this series yet, I do not know why.

4. Stay Alive: What is a character that you wish was still alive?

Oh, so many. So many of my favorite characters have died. But I think I have to go with Finnick Odair from Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

51ywqqjkppl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

He was my favorite character of this series, and my bitterness is still there. There was no point to his death. It did nothing to alter the plot. It didn’t move the plot forward and there was simply no reasoning behind his death. Suzanne just did it because she could. His death served no purpose. I loved his character and he was taken from me for no reason. Yep. I am definitely still upset about it.

5. Burn: What is a relationship that had a really heartbreaking break up?

I am not sure if this counts, but I think it does. This is a spoiler, so if you haven’t read The Darkest Minds, scroll past this. I’ll keep this in purple font until it is over. It tore my soul apart. Definitely Liam and Ruby.

1645601_orig

When they “broke up” (you all remember how she made him forget her?), it tore me apart. I was an emotionally scarred mess. For the months following finishing this book, if I even thought about the ending, I burst into tears. I couldn’t hardly read anything because I was so scarred. I couldn’t read the second book until about a year later. No joke. It was bad…

6. You’ll Be Back: Who is the sassiest villain?

Oh, so many! But I have to go with my fave and that is Sebastian Morgenstern from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

cohf_cover

Sebastian is so great. I love to hate him and I hate to love him. He is so sassy and so dark. He is obsessed with making Clary love him, and I just really enjoyed his character. If you’ve read this series, then you definitely know what I am talking about.

7. The Reynolds Pamphlet: What is a twist at the end of a book that you just really didn’t see coming?

This is a spoiler for the end of the Grisha trilogy, so scroll past until you don’t see purple text anymore or you will be spoiled. But I have to go with the end of Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo.

14061957

I didn’t see this coming at all. I didn’t think that the Darkling would truly die and I didn’t think that she would lose her powers. There probably was foreshadowing and I just missed it. But it totally threw me for a curve ball. Didn’t expect that at all.

8. Nonstop: What is a series that you marathoned?

Now I don’t hardly do this at all. But the one series that I remember reading all the way through (other than the last book because it hadn’t been released yet) was The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

immortalinstruments6books

I was recommended by my friends Katie and Courtney to read this series, so I did. And I just fell in love with the writing, the characters, and the world so much that I couldn’t stop. I had to read all the ones that were out in the world. And I impatiently waited for the last book to come out and read that too. If you haven’t gathered it yet, this is one of my favorite series of all time.

9. Satisfied: What is a book with multiple points of view?

Because of the sheer amount of them, I am going with The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

16101128

This is a book about an alien invasion, if you didn’t already know, and it is told through countless POVs. Every chapter was a new POV, and it didn’t tell you whose head you were in. You had to figure it out, which I thought was interesting. Really love this book. You should definitely read it.

10. Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story: What is a book that you think will remembered throughout history?

This is still a cultural phenomenon, and I think it will continue to be a cultural phenomenon. This is definitely the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

136251

Now I haven’t finished this series yet (still have to read books six and seven; I will do it! I promise!), but even if you haven’t read it or watched the movies, you still know about it. This is something that has affected generations and will affect even more generations. This is something that will never die, and something that will continue to affect people throughout history. If you don’t know what this is, you have to be living under a rock.

11. Helpless: What is a relationship that you were pulling for from the very start.

I could have easily said Sizzy (Simon and Izzy) from The Mortal Instruments series, but let’s shake it up a bit and make it Wessa (Will and Tessa) from The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare.

clockwork_angel_1

From the moment they met, I felt it. The chemistry, the burning passion between the two of them. I ship these two so hard. I ship them more than Clary and Jace. I didn’t think that was possible, but then I read this trilogy. If you haven’t read these books yet, then I do not know why. READ IT.

12. Right Hand Man: What is your favorite Brotp?

Oh, wow. This is hard. But I feel like I need to go with two female characters actually, and that is Rose and Lissa from the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead.

vampire_academy

This is such a great series, and one of my favorite aspects is their friendship. They will literally do anything for one another. They will do whatever it takes to make sure the other is safe and that is something we need to see more in literature. A pair of strong, independent girls looking out for each other. If you haven’t read this series yet, go do it.

So that was the Hamilton Book Tag! I hope you enjoyed reading this, and you should definitely consider doing this tag yourself. I would love to read your post. Comment down below what your favorite song from Hamilton is your favorite and what book could potentially go with that song.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

