Valentine’s Day: Book Freak Edition

Happy Valentine’s Day! (or Single’s Awareness Day; whichever you prefer) I was actually pretty surprised that I decided to do this because this is my least favorite holiday out of the entire year. But I figured it would be a great opportunity to recommend some cute books to read on this romantic day. These are from a variety of different genres as well. So let’s get started!

The first book you should definitely consider reading on Valentine’s Day is To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han.

15749186

This book is such a cute and fluffy read. It follows Lara Jean, a girl who in eighth grade wrote these letters to all the boys she loved before with detailed descriptions of how and why she loved each boy. These letters were sealed and addressed (pretty stupid move on her part) and placed in her hatbox for her eyes only. And then someone decides to send them out. This book is so funny and I just really loved this book. I definitely recommend that you give it a go.

Another book that would be great for Valentine’s Day is Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer.

12283261

This is one of the cutest stories that I have ever read. Basically it is about this girl Delilah who is obsessed with this fairytale. And one day the main character, Oliver, speaks to her. Its about her trying to get him out of the book, and it is so cute. The companion novel is cute, too. It is called Off the Page and it is about what happens when he is actually in the real world. I love this book and it gives me all the cutesy, fluffy vibes that you’d want on Valentine’s Day. Who cares if you’re single, right? Fictional characters are better than real people anyway.

The next book you should read is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

16068905

This is my favorite contemporary of all time. I have never related to a character as much as I have related to Cath. She is just going to college for the first time. She has no idea what she wants to do with her life, so she is just taking some classes, the one that is seen the most being her creative writing class. She writes fanfiction, she’s a reader, and she is introverted. She stays in her room all the time, at least until her roommate Reagan forces her out. There is romance and it is so funny and cutesie and fluffy, not to say that there isn’t serious topics discussed. But I just love this story so much. I haven’t read Carry On yet, so this remains my favorite contemporary.

Another book I recommend that you check out is Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles.

perfectchemistry_300

Don’t let the stupid cover fool you. This is a book that made me laugh, made me frustrated, but also made me really happy when reading it. It involves gangs and hot mexican dudes and forbidden love…I just really enjoyed this book. It is really fast-paced, so I think you could totally knock this book out in a day. It is just so good.

The next book I suggest you give a go is The Duff by Kody Keplinger.

710888yo8kl

This does deal with mature content, so if that makes you uncomfortable, this isn’t the book for you. But if you’re cool with sex in a book, then you should definitely pick this up. It deals with several serious topics like alcoholism and family trouble and depression, but it is still very sexy, very fun, and pretty hilarious. Bianca is our main character and when she is having trouble at home, she needs an outlet. Turns out that is the man-slut of the school, Wesley Rush. They are paired together on a school project and then they end up kissing and having sex, which turns into an enemies-with-benefits relationship. It is so good, and I have lost count on how many times that I have read this book. So good! I highly recommend this book!

Another book you should read this Valentine’s Day is Beastly by Alex Flinn.

beastly

This is a book that I fell in love with from the first page. It is beautifully written and I just really love the characters in this story. This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Basically our main character, Kyle, was a class A jerkface and to teach him a lesson, the witch in his English class cast a spell on him. She turned him into a beast and he had one year to have someone fall in love with him or he would stay a beast forever. It is so good, guys. I highly, highly recommend this baby.

The next book you should pick up is Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

alexandra-bracken-passenger

This isn’t a really quick read, but it is definitely one of my favorite romances that I have ever read about. It is a ‘treasure hunt through time’ sort of book. It follows our main character Etta who is kidnapped by Time Travelers and blackmailed into finding this object that is hidden somewhere in time as well as somewhen in time (does that make sense?). So she travels through time looking for this mysterious object and she ends up meeting another Traveler named Nicholas who decides to help her find it. And there are other people looking for that object as well and other people who are trying to kill them, so its quite an epic adventure. I did a review on this, if you need more convincing, which I will link right here.

The last book is one that I have a special place in my heart for because it is what got me into reading. You should definitely read Twilight by Stephanie Meyer.

twilightbook

If you don’t already know about this book, what rock did you crawl out from under? This book is what started my entire obsession with reading, guys. It is very cute, has lots of action, and I just really love this book. I have read this book over ten times! Basically, it involves Bella moving to Forks. She ends up becoming really fascinated with Edward Cullen and she finds out that he is a vampire. She gets put in danger and it is just so good. I highly recommend this entire series!

So those were my recommendations for Valentine’s Day. I hope you read at least one of these, and I hope you enjoyed this recommendations post. And that will be it for this post today, so I will see you soon with a new blog post.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

