Book Review: “P.S. I Still Love You” by Jenny Han

***Warning: This review contains spoilers. If you wish to not know what goes on throughout this book, read the synopsis and don’t read any other part of this review.***

Synopsis:

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

Characters:

Lara Jean: she is our main protagonist and she can be very naive, but she is still a likable character.

Peter: he frustrated me throughout the entire second half of the book. I get that he is protecting Genevieve, but he still came off as being shady and a bit of a jerk, at least to me. Which sucked because I really liked him in To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

John Ambrose McLaren: he is the perfect choice for any girl. He’s smart, nice, funny, and just an all around great guy. He’s the one that I wanted her to end up with.

Genevieve: she is the bitch of our story; I hated her throughout this entire book, no matter what went on with her personal life. That doesn’t give you a reason to be a complete bitch to an old friend of yours.

Plot:

Okay so basically what goes on is her being with Peter and then the bathtub scandal. Everyone thought they were having sex and it turns out that Genevieve is the one who made it go out everywhere. A lot of high school drama ensues that really frustrated and annoyed me. Turns out John Ambrose McLaren finally got her letter and they correspond for a bit.

They finally meet at the time capsule party. Everyone decides to play Assassins (which actually sounds pretty fun) and at the end Lara Jean wins. The scene where John Ambrose McLaren and Lara Jean were dancing was one of my favorites along with the snowball fight. I just loved any scene with John Ambrose McLaren.

So she and Peter break up. He asks for the necklace back. Later (after she discovers that Genevieve’s dad was cheating on her mom with a girl Margot’s age) she tells John Ambrose that she just can’t be together with him. And then she gets back together with Peter.

My Thoughts:

I know that was very general, but I was not a fan of this book. I wanted her with John. I thought Peter was being a jerk and I was just so annoyed with the petty high school drama. I loved the first book, but was not a fan of the second one.

5
3/5 hearts

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “P.S. I Still Love You” by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

