Totally Should’ve Book Tag

So this tag was originally created by emmmabooks over on YouTube, so I will link her video right here, so you can watch it. There are about eleven questions, so let’s get started!

1. Totally Should’ve had a sequel

For this one I have to go with Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs.

library-of-souls-by-ransom-riggs

Now this was a pretty rocky ending to a fantastic series. I have mixed feelings about the last 50 to 100 pages, and I just want one more book in this world to see how everything with Emma and Jacob panned out along with his family and having the Peculiars in his house…I just want to know how exactly everything went down. It could even be a novella. But I need something. I love this world and I really want more of it.

2. Totally Should’ve had a spin-off series

harry-potter-1

This one is easy for me. I have to go with Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling. Specifically, a spin-off series about the Marauders, but I’ll take any series set in the Wizarding World. I need it. Like I need it so much. Why did she have to stop at one series? WE NEED MORE!

3. An author who Totally Should write more books

I have to go with Danielle Paige, the author of the Dorothy Must Die trilogy. I love her writing style and the way she tells stories. She is a fantastic writer and the Dorothy Must Die trilogy is the only thing she’s written. I need more. If you haven’t read her series yet, go do it. It is fantastic. Highly recommend.

4. A character who Totally Should’ve ended up with someone else

This has only ever happened to me once. And it’s with a book I literally just finished. Lara Jean from P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han.

20698530

I should have seen how it was going to end. But I didn’t. And now I am mad at myself. I won’t spoil you, but…I just wanted something different to happen. And now I am frustrated with Lara Jean and Jenny Han.

5. Totally Should’ve  ended differently

I have to go with The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

1645601_orig

I should have seen where it was going, but I didn’t, and that ending made me so depressed. I couldn’t read another book for months. I understand why it ended that way…but it still scarred me emotionally.

6. Totally Should’ve Had a Movie Franchise

For this one, the obvious choice for me is Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

throne-of-glass-cover

I mean…Dorian, Chaol, badass assassins, magic. YES PLEASE. But other than that, I just feel like it would translate really well onto film so long as it is done well. I would totally be down for this.

7. Totally Should’ve Had a TV Show

I really want a TV show for the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead.

vampire_academy

I realize it had a shot for a movie, and failed miserably, but maybe that’s the problem. It doesn’t need a movie. It needs a tv show. I feel like it would do well, more so than a movie for the simple reason that there is so much that happens in one book that I don’t think it does well for a two hour period. It needs a longer period of time. The Mortal Instruments became a TV show, so why can’t Vampire Academy?

8. Totally Should’ve had only one point of view

Now there are several books that could totally fit into this category, but the one that sticks out the most is Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

allegiant-by-veronica-roth

My problem with this book has absolutely nothing to do with the ending. I feel like that was justified. But I hated the dual point of view. Tris and Four sounded exactly the same. I would have to go back every few pages to remind myself who’s head I was in. That shouldn’t happen!

9. Totally Should’ve had a cover change

I think I speak for the majority when I say the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead.

bookcoverbloodlinesseries

The Vampire Academy books were bad enough. But somehow–I didn’t think it was possible–the covers just got worse! These are some of the worst covers I have ever seen. I don’t actually know what I would change the covers to, but almost anything would be better. We need new covers.

10. Totally Should’ve kept the original covers

My obvious choice is The Diviners by Libba Bray.

The first cover was so beautiful. And now…not so much. I want the original covers back! The inside of the original was so gorgeous and now…it just isn’t the same.

11. Totally Should’ve stopped at book one

Now I apologize in advance for pissing some of you off, but for this one, I had to go with Divergent by Veronica Roth.

divergent_book_by_veronica_roth_us_hardcover_2011

Now don’t get me wrong. I love this first book. Divergent was so good and it seemed so promising, but then we got the rest of the trilogy. Insurgent I didn’t hate. It was okay. I liked it; I just didn’t love it. Now I hate Allegiant. Allegiant didn’t need the dual point of view (as I stated before) and my opinions on both Tris and Four really went downhill with this book. It has nothing to do with the ending. Don’t even get me started on the movie franchise. The first movie was good and then came Insurgent, which was pretty awful, and from the looks of the Allegiant trailers, the last one will be worse. I mean Allegiant looks like it takes place on Mars. Okay, now I’m done…

So that was the Totally Should’ve Book Tag! I encourage you all to do this tag. You should pin me in your post so that I can read it. And I will see you guys with my next blog post!

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

 

Leave a Reply

