Fairytale Retellings!

One of my favorite type of books is a fairytale retelling. I love seeing how someone can adapt an old fairytale into modern–or maybe not so modern–standards. I also thought you guys might want some recommendations on which ones you might consider reading. My favorite ones are the loosely based ones, actually. So let’s get to it.

The first one that I would like to recommend is the Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer.

635616865883334429-winter-3-10-15

This is the last book in the series, but they are all based off of a fairytale and of course you need to read them in order. They’re a series that tie together. These books are my favorite retellings that I have ever read. The first book is called Cinder and it is based off of Cinderella. The next book is called Scarlet and it is based off of Little Red Riding Hood. The third book is called Cress and it is based off of Rapunzel. These are loose adaptations. The basis of the first novel is that Cinder is a mechanic and a cyborg. Her path crosses with Prince Kai’s and his life is threatened and a whole lot of other stuff goes on throughout the novel, but I will not go into detail. I think the best way to go into this novel is knowing practically nothing. This is one of my favorite series of all time, and I highly recommend it.

The next recommendation I have is every book by Alex Flinn, but specifically Beastly by Alex Flinn.

beastly

This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Basically our main character, Kyle, was a class A jerkface and to teach him a lesson, the witch in his English class cast a spell on him. She turned him into a beast and he had one year to have someone fall in love with him or he would stay a beast forever. This is one of my favorite Beauty and the Beast retellings, and I highly recommend it.

The next recommendation I have for you is A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

16096824

This is another Beauty and the Beast retelling (have I ever mentioned that my favorite fairytale is Beauty and the Beast?). The storyline of this story is Feyre, a huntress, kills a wolf on fae lands and this beast shows up, demanding retribution, so she is forced to live with him at his estate, and that’s all I am going to say about it. It is a fantastic book, and I am highly anticipating its sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury, which comes out this year (if you want an exact date, you can look at my 2016 releases post, which I will link right here).

Another recommendation that I have for you guys is Bewitching by Alex Flinn.

11859244

Now this is a Hansel and Gretel retelling, and it was pretty good. It is a solid four star book. This one is more of a tight retelling than a loose one. It follows our main character, Kendra, who was also the witch in Beastly, who saves those kids from the witch and is hanged. But that’s also a retelling inside of another story, which is something that I really love about Alex’s writing. I definitely recommend that you pick this up.

My last recommendation is (surprise, surprise) A Kiss In Time by Alex Flinn.

6933600

This is a pretty tight retelling of Sleeping Beauty, and it is one of my favorites by Alex Flinn. This is such a great retelling. The princess isn’t this perfect little angel. Quite frankly, she could be a bit of a bitch, but she does develop more, and I grew to like her. I just really loved all of the characters and the way that Alex wrote this. I highly recommend this book.

Well, those were some of my favorite retellings of all time. I highly recommend you pick up these books. They’re fantastic, the writing is fantastic…I just really love them. This list will be updated if there is one that I missed.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

 

Leave a Reply

