January Wrap Up!

So I was very successful this month. I read all that I set out to read, and I am pretty proud of myself for that. However, I think that I am still in this weird reading funk. I am not in a reading slump, but I am not in full-on reading mode, so I think that next month there will still be a TBR, but it will be very open. I may want to read one or two books and then leave the rest to be very open. I don’t want to feel pressured to read anything. So now that I have that out of the way, let’s get to the books!

So the first book that I read this month was Landline by Rainbow Rowell.

51gbrztwvcl-_sx344_bo1204203200_

I loved this book so much. I flew through it. It was such a cute concept. This was my first adult book that I have ever read, and it just made me laugh, cry, and just feel all the feels. If you want to know more about my feelings, I did a book review, which I will link here, if you’re interested. I gave this 4.5/5 hearts. Basically, this centers around our main character Georgie who is trying to save her marriage. She thinks her husband has left her, so she stays at her mom’s house and calls him from her old landline. Her husband from 1998 is the one who answers. I highly recommend you give this one a go, if that’s something that interests you.

The next book I read this month was Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

alexandra-bracken-passenger

Now this is a new release. It came out on January 5, and it was so good. I immediately fell in love with our main character Etta. I thought the method of time travel was really interesting, and I really loved our other main character Nicholas because it is told in dual points of view. It was really epic and mind-blowing to say the least. If you want to know all of my spoilery thoughts, you should definitely check out my book review, which I will link here. I gave this 4.5/5 hearts. Basically it mainly follows our main character, Etta, a violinist prodigy, who is suddenly thrust into the year 1776 when her mom is kidnapped. So she has to find this object which is someplace in time and somewhen in time, and if she doesn’t, they’ll kill her mom. This is a treasure hunt through time sort of story. If that seems like something you would like, I would definitely recommend that you check it out.

The next book that I read in the month of January is Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo.

14061957

This is the last book in Leigh Bardugo’s fantastic Grisha Trilogy. I went into this with pretty low expectations because I had heard from several people whose reviews I trust that it was not good, but I was pretty surprised when I flew through this book. Basically everything that I wanted to happen happened, and I could not be more happy with the end to this trilogy. What the first book, Shadow and Bone, is about is this girl Alina suddenly displays a show of sunlight power and is promptly brought to the Darkling who brings her to the Little Palace to help develop her power. That’s all I will say about it. It is a fantastic series, and I highly recommend it. I gave this book 4.5/5 hearts, and if you want to know all of my feels, my book review is linked right here.

The last book that I read this month is Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

throne-of-glass-cover

This book really lived up to the hype, I think. Now, admittedly, it took me quite a bit to get into it, but that’s because it is high fantasy, and it just takes me a while to fully immerse into books like that. I really loved all of the characters and I ship Celorian. So this follows the story of Celaena Sardothien, a kickass assassin who has to compete in this competition with other assassins, thieves, and the like to be the King’s Champion. That’s all I am going to say about it. You should definitely consider picking it up. If you want to know all of my spoilery thoughts, my review is here. I gave it 4/5 hearts.

So those were the books that I read this month. I am pretty proud of myself for finishing all of those. I may read another book, but I don’t know. If I do, that will be grouped in with my February Wrap Up. My February TBR will be up soon as well as my Birthday Book Haul, so stay tuned for those.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

Leave a Reply

