My Top 10 Fave Book Adaptations of All Time

These aren’t actually in any particular order. These are just some that I really really love.

1. Divergent

This is based off of Divergent by Veronica Roth. Keep in mind this is not the Divergent series of movies. This is strictly the first one. The second one was awful, and I do not have any hope for Allegiant. Judging by the trailers, it is going to be worse than Insurgent. I might not even go see it. But Divergent was pretty much the book in movie form. It is probably one of my favorite book to movie adaptations of all time. They changed only a couple of things and they really weren’t all that noticeable. Highly, highly recommend this adaptation. I would give this an A+ on my scale.

divergent

2. The Fault In Our Stars

This is a fabulous adaptation. It is based off of The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. I loved the book, and the movie was so similar to that book. Neither one made me cry, but it was still such a powerful and moving story. This is another instance of the book in movie form. If you haven’t watched it yet, I don’t know why. READ THE BOOK. THEN WATCH THE MOVIE. I would give this an A- on my scale.

mv5bmja4nzkxnzc5ml5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzq3otmxmte-_v1_uy1200_cr9006301200_al_

3. If I Stay

This is based off of If I Stay by Gayle Forman. This book and movie were both fabulous, though ironically enough, I did enjoy the movie more than the book. In the book, for some odd reason, I had trouble connecting to any of the characters, but with me, it was instant. I instantly connected with Mia and her situation, and it was just a really fabulous adaptation. I cried like throughout the entire movie. It was pretty much the book in movie form. I would give this an A on my scale.

mv5bmji4njkxodmymf5bml5banbnxkftztgwodywodq5mte-_v1_uy1200_cr8906301200_al_

4. Catching Fire

This is based off of Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (if you have never heard of this, then you must be living underneath a rock). This was my favorite book and movie in the series. I loved all of the characters that were introduced and the visuals were stunning as well as it had phenomenal acting and it was the book, exactly the book, in the form of a movie. I know. I am getting repetitive. But it is true. Definitely one of my top favorite adaptations of all time. I would give this an A+ on my scale.

los_juegos_del_hambre_en_llamas-758754770-large

5. Paper Towns

This is based off of Paper Towns by John Green. This book was…not the best. I really didn’t like the book, but the movie was great. I have great memories with it because I went to see it with my sister, and we hadn’t done that in probably three or four years. It was great and fun and I really liked the characters. I feel like they all developed really well and the book translated well onto screen. I would give this a B+ on my scale.

mv5bmje2odqxodmwof5bml5banbnxkftztgwndy5njy3nde-_v1_sx640_sy720_

6. The Scorch Trials

This is based off of The Scorch Trials by James Dashner. Okay, so I am kind of cheating on this one because I haven’t actually read the books. But the movies are great and from what I know from my friend Danielle who has seen the movies and read the books is that she thinks it was a great adaptation. Honestly, I have never talked to someone who genuinely loves the books. And they always say that the movies are better than the books. I personally cannot stand the books because I just can’t stand Thomas’s character and James Dashner’s writing style. I would give this adaptation a B+ on my scale.

mv5bmje3mdu2nzqyml5bml5banbnxkftztgwmzqxmdq3nte-_v1_sx640_sy720_

7. Breaking Dawn Part 2

This is based off of Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer. I have read that book maybe eight to ten times and the watched the movie much more than that. But the movie was fabulous. I freaking loved it. It was the book in movie form. As much as I hate Kristin Stewart as Bella Cullen, this movie was spectacular. I loved everything about it. The acting (minus Kristin Stewart) was fabulous, the cinematography was fabulous, the story was fabulous…just an altogether fabulous adaptation. And yes, I am a Twihard. Guess who doesn’t give a shit what you think? ME. I would give this an A on my scale.

the_twilight_saga_breaking_dawn_part_2_poster

8. Beastly

This is based off of Beastly by Alex Flinn. Holy crap. This movie was…SO GOOD. I honestly do not remember the book all that clearly. I do remember picturing Kyle/Hunter as a literal beast, like in the movie Beauty and the Beast, but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw how they did it in the movie. I felt like it was done really well and I love the acting in it (I am a bit on the fence about Alex Pettyfer’s acting…). Vanessa Hudgens did a fabulous job of portraying Lindy, and I just really loved this movie. I would give this an A- on my scale.

51gbpgcanzl

9. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

This is based off of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis. So I am kind of cheating on this one. I haven’t actually read the book, but I have so many fantastic memories involving this series of movies. Every time one comes out, my family and I go and see it together, and I just really love this movie. The acting is great, the cinematography is great, the story is great…just an all around fabulous movie. I would give this an A+ on my scale.

mv5bmtc0ntuwmtu5ov5bml5banbnxkftztcwnjawnzqzmw-_v1_sx640_sy720_

10. Vampire Academy

This is based off of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. So this wasn’t the best adaptation ever, as evidenced by the fact that it completely flopped in the box office, though not as badly as City of Bones did. But the acting from everyone in the cast was spot on. Zoey Deutch is Rose Hathaway as far as I am concerned. The script was written really well, and every sarcastic remark that Rose made just made me chuckle. I loved this movie. Compared to the book, it really wasn’t the greatest, but by itself, I really loved it. I just really loved the cast, and I was initially depressed that they aren’t making a Frostbite movie, but I have made my peace with it. But I would still be 100% on board, if they were to decide to make a sequel. I would give this an A- on my scale.

mv5bmtuyoti0mzuym15bml5banbnxkftztgwmzi2mzu0mde-_v1_uy1200_cr9006301200_al_

So, there you have it. Those were my top 10 favorite book adaptations as of right now. What are your top 10? You should do this and pin me so that I can read your post. I hope you guys enjoyed it, and there will be a new blog post up soon!

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

