My Most Anticipated Releases of 2016

It’s that time. Time for my most anticipated releases of 2016! Wow, 2015 flew by. These aren’t all the releases and a few of them may be out by the time this is posted, but at my time of writing this, these are the releases that I am most excited for.

January

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (January 5)

alexandra-bracken-passenger

This book  involves time travel, but that’s all I know about it. I really just want to read this book and inhale its essence in (oh, come on. Like you’ve never smelled a book before.). I just really need this book and it will hopefully be coming in the mail next week.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (January 5)

21414439

Now this is a book that is mostly involved friendship, I believe, though there is some romance. Basically the central protagonist (who’s name I don’t actually know) is a truthwitch, meaning she can tell truth from lies, and people want to get a hold of a truthwitch because that would be a fabulous weapon in their arsenal and her best friend is a threadwitch, which is someone who can see the bonds between people. That’s pretty much all I know, and I really want to get my hands on this.

February

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer (February 2)

51-9b976jil-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Can we just sit back and admire how freaking gorgeous this cover is? Probably one of my all time favorites. This is a collection of short stories and novellas that Marissa Meyer has made about the Lunar Chronicles, including one that is about a wedding that takes place after Winter. I am so excited to read this.

March

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (March 8)

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

This is my most anticipated book of 2016. It is the first book in a trilogy. I know it is five years after The Mortal Instruments and it involves Emma Carstairs falling in love with her Parabatai, Julian Blackthorn. I am sold. I was sold when I saw Cassandra Clare’s name on the book. I need to read this. I NEED IT.

Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige (March 15)

18602406

This is the third book in the Dorothy Must Die series, and The Wicked Will Rise left me with such a cliffhanger. I need this! Because this is the third book, all I am going to tell you is the famous tagline from the first and second books: Remove the Tin Woodman’s heart. Steal the Scarecrow’s brain. Take the lion’s courage. And then- DOROTHY MUST DIE. If that doesn’t make you want to pick up this series, then I don’t know what will.

April

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead (April 5)

27272506

I am so excited for another Richelle Mead book (because I haven’t read a book by her since Vampire Academy). From what I know, the story follows Adelaide, a countess who wants to escape an arranged marriage. So she poses as a servant and joins the Glittering Court, which turns impoverished ladies into upper-class citizens. It sounds interesting, and it is the first book in a series.

May

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (May 3)

17927395

So there is no cover yet, but this is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses. I have not read the first one yet but I will be soon. All I know about it is it is a loosely-based retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I’m sold.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (May 3)

26252859

This is the first book in the Trials of Apollo series and the basic storyline is that Apollo angered his father, Zeus, so he is cast out of Olympus and forced to live as an ordinary, mortal teenage boy. I am so excited for this.

The Last Star by Rick Yancey (May 24)

16131489

This is the third and final book of the 5th Wave series, and I am so very excited for this. I will be hopefully getting to the second book soon. It’s about an alien invasion. And it is fabulous. You should definitely read this series. It is just done so well.

 

October

The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

26874946

This is the second book of the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series. I have the first one, but have not read it yet. It kind of intimidates me, to be honest. And this has no confirmed cover. But this series is centered on Norse Mythology.

Well, that concludes my most anticipated reads of 2016. This list will be updated if the release date of one of the books changes or is moved to next year (God forbid; who likes waiting for books?). What are your top three most anticipated releases of this year? Please let me know in the comments!

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Most Anticipated Releases of 2016

Leave a Reply

