December Wrap Up!

So I had a pretty good reading month what with being off for two weeks. Though, I read mostly in the first two weeks of December. Have I ever mentioned how I get distracted by Criminal Minds when I’m home? I have a problem.

Now the first book I read was Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.

shatterme2

This is the first book in a trilogy, and I am so incredibly late to this bandwagon, but better late than never, right? So basically the story follows Juliette, a girl whose touch literally kills. She gets recruited by the Reestablishment to torture people for them. Warner is the leader of the particular sect that recruited her, and he develops an obsession with Juliette. She ends up falling in love with one of her guards (it is actually better than it sounds, but I’m not spoiling you) named Adam, and I can’t really say anything else without spoiling the book. It’s pretty short, but I fell in love with the world, the characters, and the writing style. I am fairly certain that the reason I loved it so much is 80% because of the poetic writing style. I recommend this book to those who don’t mind a pretty prominent love story. 4.5/5 hearts and my book review can be found here.

The next book I read was Hollow City by Ransom Riggs.

hollow-city

This is the second book in a trilogy and it did not disappoint. It picks up right where Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children left off. I can’t tell you anything about it without spoiling it, but I enjoyed this just as much as I did the first book. There was a lot more going on in this book, and I really liked that you really got to know all of the characters. We didn’t really get that in the first book, and it was fabulously done. 4.5/5 hearts just because it seemed a bit slow in the beginning. My book review is here.

The next book I read was Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs.

library-of-souls-by-ransom-riggs

This is the third and final book in the Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children series. It was fabulous and a great finale. This picks up right where Hollow City leaves off. This book was full of twists and turns, and the ending took me by surprise. It seemed a bit rocky to me, which is why I would rate this as 4.5/5 hearts. My review is here.

The final book that I read this month and 2015 is The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige.

91i7trpe2bcl

This is the second book in the Dorothy Must Die series, and being as short as it was (less than 300 pages!), a lot of things happened. It picks up right after Dorothy Must Die ends. In Dorothy Must Die, Dorothy came back and took everything over. She became drunk with power and refused to relinquish it. She’s a tyrant. And Oz is paying the price. The book follows a Kansas girl named Amy who is recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to kill Dorothy. It was a fabulous book (5/5 hearts), and this book was no different. I didn’t enjoy this book as much because the cast of characters from the first book weren’t in it as much. I did have some issues with the rapid character evolutions that happened throughout this book, but I still enjoyed it. 4/5 hearts and my review is here.

I read about a book a week, which is pretty average for me. I did want to read and finish The Diviners by Libba Bray, but I was having a hard time really getting into the story, so I will hopefully read and finish that in the near future, but that time is not now.

My TBR is seriously starting to pile up. I am currently reading Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas and Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout (it is super duper hard for me to read one book at a time; no one around me understands how I can do that. It’s a really bad habit that I need to kick). Book Reviews will be up hopefully soon. I might be taking a break from Half-Blood just because I am not liking it as much as I’d like to, and I am freaking loving Throne of Glass. It’s just SO GOOD.

Well, I guess I shall be seeing you guys next with my Christmas Book Haul.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

