Top 10 Authors I Still Need to Read!

Okay, I am a tad bit ashamed of this list. I just never have picked up their books and I really want to. But something always gets in the way, whether it be a book that draws me in more so than one of their books or I just don’t have the money. Something always interferes with me reading a book by this person.

1. Colleen Hoover

Yeah, you read that right. Some of you are probably wondering why the heck I haven’t read one book by her, even if I get it from the library (not likely; I just don’t like the library because of the thought of someone who is sick or something and they touch that book…it disgusts me. The main reason I haven’t picked up a Colleen Hoover book is because I never really got into contemporaries until earlier this year. Now all I am into is scifi and fantasy. So I will read a book by her eventually. But that day is not today.

2. Stephen King

I am sure many of you are looking at me pretty horrified right now because I have not read a book by the King of Horror.  Honestly, the main reason I haven’t read his books is because I am not a big fan of the genre of horror. My best friend Megan is probably one of his biggest fans. I am pretty sure that until she discovered Cassandra Clare’s books (due to me raving all the time), she only read Stephen King. And she can’t understand why I haven’t read his books. Also, the length of his books seriously intimidate me. Like I love big books (and I cannot lie), but his books are ginormous. And I am pretty ashamed of this one because it is pretty much an avid reader’s requirement to read a Stephen King book. One day, I will read a book of his. But that day is probably not going to be today.

3. Libba Bray

I am sure some of you have these really confused faces because The Diviners is on my December TBR and technically I did start reading it. But unless I finish that book, it doesn’t count. I’ll talk about my situation with The Diviners in my December Wrap Up. I have heard so many fantastic things about Libba Bray’s books and when people ask me if I have read her books, I have to say no and it makes me feel ashamed (not as bad as not having read Stephen King, though).

4. Gayle Forman

For all you contemporary lovers, please don’t judge me. I have once felt the urge to read If I Stay, but that only happened once. I tried to read it, but couldn’t get into it. I should read at least one of her books. That should be a New Year’s Resolution…even though I hate resolutions. It’s not as bad as not having read Rainbow Rowell, which thank heavens I have, but this is still sort of shameful because she is one of Christine Riccio’s favorite authors. I hope you start to notice a trend with contemporary authors that I haven’t read…

5. George R. R. Martin

I have heard so many good things about the Game of Thrones book series, and I am so ashamed at not having read anything by him. I don’t even think I have held one of his books. It’s pretty sad and it depresses me that I haven’t read this series that has been recommended to me so many times. I really need to pick that series up…

6. V. E. Scwab (Victoria Schwab)

I feel so inadequeate for not reading one of her books because she writes the kind of things that I love to read. I follow her on all her social medias, and yet I haven’t read a book by her. I have heard so many things about her awesomeness from Jessethereader’s YouTube channel, and I just really want to pick up a pick by her. I might read The Archived. If you have other suggestions, please leave them in the comments down below.

7. Sarah J. Maas

I am going to get so much grief from this. I just would like to point out that I have been DYING to read one of her books. I have heard nothing but great things about her, and I even own Heir of Fire! I would love to read her books, but I don’t have the first two, so I can’t read it, and that upsets me. I raved so much about the good things that I have heard about Sarah J. Maas that Megan went and bought A Court of Thorns and Roses, a book I have been dying to get my hands on, and she said I could read it if I wanted, but I want to own it. And if I read it, I won’t buy it. I just really need to read her books, guys. I am probably the most ashamed about this one…

8. Stephanie Perkins

She is the cute, YA, romance novel / contemporary author that everyone loves, and I haven’t read any of her books yet. Despite the cheesy novel names, I have been assured that the novel itself is spectacular. When people talk about how amazing her books are, I feel so awkward and have to leave the room because spoilers. There are just so many contemporary authors that I need to read. At least I’ve read John Green because if not, that would have been so sad and shameful…

9. Sophie Kinsella

I have heard so many good things about her books. How she talks about super serious topics, but there is still romance and comedy throughout the book. I need one of these books in my life. I have heard a bad review or two about her Shopaholic series, but that was like one of her first novels, so I am willing to forgive that. Any recommendations on where to start? Comment down below.

10. Jodi Picoult

This counts. I have read Between the Lines and Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer, but I need to read a full-blown Jodi Picoult book. I own My Sister’s Keeper and I have started it but I haven’t finished it, but I will hopefully soon. Any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated. She’s written so many books and I just really need to read one of them.

So those were my (shameful) top 10 authors that I still need to read. I would love to know what your top 10 are. You should definitely do this and pin me in your post. Hope you all enjoyed this and hope you have a Merry Christmas!!

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

