Top 10 Fave Books of 2015

Just to clarify something, these are the books that I read this year. The majority of them are old releases, but there are also some new releases and this was really hard. I read a lot of great books this year, so let’s get started!

10. Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer

23278546

This book was a really cute book. It was fun and it made me happy the way Rainbow Rowell’s books make me happy. I did enjoy this one a lot more than the first book, Between the Lines, just because Oliver was out in the real world in this one. Now the first book is about this girl named Delilah who is obsessed and in love with this fairytale book and one day the main character, Oliver, speaks to her, and that one is about getting him out of the book and into the real world. This book is about what happens when he gets out into the real world. It’s much more interesting and fun than it sounds and I would give it about 4.5/5 hearts.

9. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

I don’t think I have ever related so much to a book character as I do with Cath. This was my first Rainbow Rowell book, and this is the book that really got me invested in contemporaries. Cath felt like a real character and the problems she faced were not cliched at all. She is a fangirl. She writes fanfiction and connects with other fangirls as well as rereads the Simon Snow series (she is the potterhead of Rainbow Rowell’s world). She is literally me in college. I will be staying in my room, avoiding all human interaction. This is sort of hard for me to sum up, so just go read it. 5/5 hearts.

8. Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer

48141990-cached

This book was amazing. It filled me with this nostalgic feel for the Twilight days. It was a really quick read and I enjoyed it immensly. Some people do complain because it is Twilight with a different ending, but I still enjoyed it. So basically, everyone is gender swapped in this. Bella became Beau, Edward became Edyth, and Jacob became Jules. I definitely recommend this. 4.5/5 hearts.

7.  Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

My best friend Lauren talked about this series literally all of the time, so much that I finally asked to borrow it. AND I LOVED IT. I flew through it. Now the world building was great, but the character development wasn’t the greatest, in my opinion. But it was a fabulous story and the Darkling became my new favorite lovable villain. Basically it follows the character of Adelina who develops the power of creating sunlight and some crap goes down that I won’t talk about, but it was a really quick read, for me at least. 5/5 hearts.

6. The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan

the_serpents_shadow_2012

This book I flew through and it completely blew me away. This is one of my favorite series of all time and it involves the Egyptian gods, which are my faves, and the character and world are developed so well. Basically, it follow two siblings, Sadie and Carter, who discover they are magicians and a bunch of crap goes down. This is a must read series. 5/5 hearts.

5. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

17984141

This book went to a place that I didn’t expect. This book really creeped me out and made feel weird being inside Adelina’s head. So this girl Adelina has discovered these powers and she gets discovered by the Young Elites and they are trying to overthrow the government and whatnot and a whole slew of crap goes down and Adelina takes a turn you would never expect. This book is pretty unique in the way things play out. I really need to get my hands on The Rose Society…5/5 hearts.

4. Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

library-of-souls-by-ransom-riggs

Hopefully this one isn’t a surprise. This is one of my favorite series of all time, and this is one of my most favorite finales of all time. I was sort of freaking out getting towards the end because there was less than fifty pages left and there were still so many problems that needed to be solved. But they all got solved eventually. I was starting to think I would be very ticked off at Ransom until I finished it. The end started being tricky but smoothed out. Really awesome book. This is a story with horror, scifi, paranormal stuff, and love. And powers. You should read this series. 5/5 hearts.

3. Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout

13644055

This is no surprise. You seeing a trend here with finales? This finale is one of my favorites of all time! I have read this at least three times now…I love how everything worked out despite so much crap going down and being separated and all the weird alien crap going down…THIS WAS FLAWLESS. Katy is the one book character that I have connected with the most and Jen is my favorite author. Basically this is a scifi series with love, lust, action, sexy times, sarcasm, banter, and so many other things. Read it! 5/5 hearts.

2. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

cohf_cover

Oh, what do ya know? Another finale. All of the ships happened in this story. Clace was fabulous. SIZZY WAS FABULOUS. Malec happened and it was just…amazing. There were so many twists and turns and I just loved it. It was a fabulous way to end a series. Cassie is the queen of ending a series. The story follows a girl named Clary Fray who finds out that she is actually a demonhunter and a whole lot of other crap comes into play and the tv show will be coming out on January 12, so we have that to look forward to. 5/5 hearts.

1. Winter by Marissa Meyer

635616865883334429-winter-3-10-15

THIS BOOK WAS UNBELIEVABLE. IT WAAS FABULOUS. This is one of my favorite finales of all time. So much stuff happened. All of the ships became canon. Everything got resolved in a fabulous and realistic way. There was literally so much that happened that I was so afraid that I would forget something that I didn’t make a book review about it. This is one of my favorite series of all time. Basically these books are loosely-based fairytale retellings with a scifi twist. They’re right up there with The Mortal Instruments in terms of my favorite series of all time. If you haven’t read this series, what have you been doing with your life? GO READ THESE BOOKS. 5/5 hearts.

Those were my favorite books that I read in 2015. I hope you enjoyed reading about the feels and my failing at describing books. Is anyone great at that? Please teach me your ways. I fail so hard. But you guys should do this and pin me in your post. I would love to read it!

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

One thought on “Top 10 Fave Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

