Books: They Changed My Life

Wow, its been awhile since I’ve blogged, huh? Basically, I just started thinking about what books got me into reading, and it shocked me to think that the book that got me heavily into reading was none other than Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I know what you’re thinking. Twilight? Seriously?

But yeah. Definitely that series. Say what you want, but unless you’ve read the books, you have no right to judge it. DON’T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS MOVIE. I will admit it. The movies sucked (well, the first two anyway. The last three were pretty good), but that is mostly because of casting issues. I think they chose the right actors and actresses for everyone except for Bella. My god, what was that casting director thinking? The girl can’t act.

Anyway, that was how I discovered how freakin’ awesome reading is. And Freshman year, I found another book series that really changed the way I thought about things. Its a series that I am not allowed to read, but you know, I still read it anyway. That is the Harry Potter series. I still haven’t finished the books, still needing to read the next two books. My parents found out, which is why I went on hiatus for a bit.

But then I decided that they haven’t read the books, so why should I abide by what they said about it? Don’t judge a book by what you hear about it. My parents are obviously doing exactly that, and they believe that the Harry Potter series and JK Rowling are Satan reincarnated.

So, back to changing the way they make me think. They started changing the way I thought by little themes I’ve come to realize within the books like friendship and bravery. My parents just don’t get it. And everyone in my small group (bible study group) are fans of HP, so what now!

I don’t know if you’ve heard of The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare, but they are fantastic. I started reading TMI in eighth grade and I was instantly sucked in. Those books just made me laugh, and that just became my escape for a while (because there are so many books; I have not read the last two) when things sucked.

TID I read last year and fell in love with just like TMI and I am super excited because Cassie is coming out with two more series (The Dark Artifices and The Last Hours) taking place in the shadowhunting world (TMI and TID). The Dark Artifices happens five years after the events of TMI, and it is set in the LA Institute. The Last Hours is the generation after TID.

A series I picked up last year has definitely just…its hard to explain. It got me out of a reading slump I’d gotten after finishing The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (I wrote a review; if you want to read it, here’s the link: _). TDM really messed me up and I still can’t bring myself to read the next book. The series that got me out of the reading slump is the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Its a fantastic read (the first book is Obsidian) and I recommend it to everyone. (Its about hot aliens and the main character is a girl obsessed with books; it is AMAZING). I also did a book review on Obsidian, if you want to check it out (_)

Divergent by Veronica Roth was an intriguing read, too. It made me want to be more brave, be more myself. Tris is a huge role model for me, and that would the book I would recommend to the person who doesn’t like reading. The whole series is fantastic. Definitely pick it up if you have the chance!

I am sure there are others, but those are definitely the forerunners for getting me so heavily into reading (I am so into it I read with physical books, on my tablet, and on my computer. I also watch a girl on youtube talk about books; she’s a booktuber called polandbananasBOOKS).

Well, I think that wraps this up. See you guys next review!

LOVE YOU ALL TO LUNA AND BACK,

ALLIE

Leave a Reply

